View Our Practice Areas

Grand Rapids Drunk Driving Defense Lawyers

Michigan DWI/DUI/OWI/OWVI Defense Attorneys

A lot is at stake in the outcome of your Michigan drunk driving case. Even first-offense drunk driving charges can result in jail time, fines, costs, the imposition of community service and costly "driver responsibility fees". Specific penalties for common drunk driving charges include:

  • Operating while intoxicated (OWI). A first-offense OWI (drunk driving) conviction results from blood alcohol level of .08 or higher and can lead to 93 days in jail, a $500 fine, and up to 360 days of community service. Your driver's license can be suspended for up to 180 days with a mandatory minimum suspension for the first 30 days. You will be required to pay a driver responsibility fee of $1,000 per year for two years. Failure to pay this fee will result in license suspension.
  • Operating while visibly impaired (OWVI). A first-offense OWVI (impaired driving) conviction results from blood alcohol level of .07 or lower such that it impairs your driving abilities. A conviction for OWVI can result in a 93 day jail sentence, fines of up to $300, up to 360 hours of community service, and restrictions on your driver's license of up to 90 days. A driver responsibility fee of $500 per year for two years will also be imposed.

Due to these and other serious penalties, it is critical to work with an experienced attorney following a drunk driving arrest, in order to protect your rights.

The Grand Rapids drunk driving defense attorneys of McDonald Pierangeli Macfarlane, PLLC, are experienced in defending people charged with all types of drunk driving charges in Michigan. We provide strong advocacy for clients facing drunk driving charges, fighting to protect their rights and preserve their driving privileges. We will:

  • Review your case in detail and fully advise you of your rights under the law
  • Examine the legality of the traffic stop involved in your arrest, the admissibility of any Breathalyzer results and other evidence
  • Consider suppression of any information or evidence that may have been obtained illegally, if appropriate

We will work to minimize the imposition of jail time, fines and penalties, and will utilize our best efforts, keeping you informed along the way. The attorneys of McDonald Pierangeli Macfarlane have achieved excellent results for clients charged with drinking and driving violations.

"Super Drunk"

On October 31, 2010, Michigan's "Super Drunk" law went into effect. "Super Drunk" charges result when a drunk driver has a blood alcohol level of .17 or above. All penalties are substantially increased under the "Super Drunk" law. A person convicted under Michigan's new "Super Drunk" law faces up to 180 days in jail, fines of up to $700, and the imposition of up to 360 hours of community service. Driving privileges are automatically suspended for a minimum of 45 days, with the possibility of suspension for up to one year. Persons afforded a restricted license must pay for the installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device. You will be required to pay a driver responsibility fee of $1,000 per year for two years. Failure to pay this fee will result in license suspension. For more information, please contact our firm.

Free Attorney Consultation

To discuss your OWI or OWVI case with a lawyer, call 616-426-9609 or fill out the contact form on this site. From our office in Grand Rapids, we represent clients throughout Michigan.