Driving is often a necessary, if not enjoyable, activity. Whether you’re commuting or tearing up backroads on weekends, motoring can be an easy and fun way of traveling from place to place. Yet it’s easy to forget that it’s a privilege, not a right.
You may have abused this privilege through reckless driving, excessive speeding or operating under the influence. Depending on the frequency and severity of your infraction, you may have your license suspended.
But suspended licenses may not prevent people from hitting the road. Getting caught driving with one can lead to serious consequences. Knowing these can help you exercise restraint next time you’re ready to get behind the wheel.
Michigan’s license laws
Michigan has some of the stricter penalties in the nation for driving with a suspended license. At the very least, you’ll likely pay a fine. First time offenders may receive fines up to $500. This amount can increase to $1000 upon a second violation.
Not only might you have to pay a fine, you could face jail time. While there’s no guarantee that you’ll receive time in jail, the severity of your first offense could result in up to 93 days of time served. For your second offense, you could face up to one year in jail.
Learning from your mistakes
The repercussions for driving with a suspended license are severe. Understanding the gravity of each violation could keep you from breaking the law again. Working with a criminal defense professional can help you reduce the impact these charges have on your ability to drive.