Serving The Grand Rapids Community For More Than 20 Years

Call Us Today 616-426-9609

Have you fallen foul of Michigan marijuana laws?

On Behalf of | Oct 13, 2020 | Criminal Defense |

When Michigan passed laws to allow recreational marijuana use in 2018, it came as a great relief for many people. Legal use of a commonly and widely used recreational and medicinal substance without landing in jail is significant.

However, there are limits as to how you are permitted to use and possess marijuana and you could still find yourself in problems if you do not understand the laws.

  • Is there an age limit? You must be 21 years old to use recreational marijuana.
  • Can I grow it myself? You are allowed up to 12 marijuana plants and can have up to 10 ounces harvested from your plants in your possession.
  • How much can I have? You cannot possess more than 2.5 ounces unless you grew it yourself.
  • Is giving it to my friends a crime? You can give away 2.5 ounces maximum, as long as no one compensates you for it and as long as you are both over 21 years old.
  • Can I have paraphernalia? You can have things such as bongs or pipes in your possession. You can also make them, give them away or sell them. Again, the minimum age applies to all involved.

There are various clauses in the legislation which you may inadvertently fall afoul of. For instance, there are restrictions on where you can grow or use marijuana and how you must store quantities over 2.5 ounces. If you face marijuana-related charges, seek legal help to understand more.